As a 501(c)(3), the Community Foundation of Crawford County (Foundation) annually recruits new members to its board of directors as current members cycle off of the board. Board members serve one or two three-year terms. The CFCC pursues all types of career elements and those who represent various areas of the entire county. All board members have a strong connection to the community which makes them valuable allies in securing the future of Crawford County through endowment-building and wise stewardship of every dollar entrusted to the Foundation. Beyond age, profession and geographic representations, inclusion of all types are also relevant to recruitment since each area represents this community, as is, for the community, by the community.


The Foundation is now pleased to welcome recently elected Board Members, listed alphabetically.

Dr. Cassi Friday, Director of Research Programs and Grants, Cure HHT

Doug Goerss, JD, Chief Deputy Prosecutor, Perry County Prosecutor’s Office

Allen Holzbog, Jasper Engines & Transmissions, Hillview Christian Church

The election of officers was held at the June 2023 meeting. Re-elected officers are: Angela Leonard, an analyst with Molina Healthcare as chairperson; Carol Groves, a marketing and promotions professional as vice chair; Gary Smith, an engineer with Caterpillar, Inc. as secretary; and C. Evan Peabody, an associate with Stonehenge as treasurer. Other leaders serving on the Community Foundation’s Board of Directors are: Angie Allen with Vincennes University Jasper; Kim Allen with Crawford County School Corporation and Fairview General Baptist Church; Ashley Allen Bullington with Debby Broughton Real Estate; Dr. Kimberly Broughton Miller with U of L Healthcare; Michael May with Humana, and Dave Poe with Dave Poe Construction.

When asked why our new board members wanted to serve: “The Community Foundation serves a valuable role in the county, and it’s my pleasure to serve on the board and assist in such a positive

mission,” replied Goerss. Holzbog agrees. As a person who is engaged in Crawford County in several different ways, he has seen the impact of the Community Foundation.

“The opportunities I had after receiving the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship opened doors I never knew existed,” said Friday, “This is a great way to give back and show my gratitude for the CFCC and the work they do.”

“Our board members use their skills and professional expertise to support the whole community through serving on the Community Foundation board. The Community Foundation is proud to know all of these individuals and welcomes them with open arms. Board members lead alongside more than 50 other community volunteers who serve on various committees. Laken Fraime, director of finance and programs at the Foundation, and I know how fortunate we are to have such passionate people involved!” Said Christine Harbeson, executive director. 


The Foundation is also very appreciative for the service of board members who have completed two full terms: Nick Siler of Nicholas Siler Attorney at Law; and Susan Mason and Carol Tomlinson, both retired educators.

“These individuals led strong during our renovation and all the changes that occurred with those efforts. They were here with us during the time of COVID and helped us navigate uncertain economic conditions. Each one brought a special skill and served on a variety of different committees in association with their Board roles,” said Christine Harbeson, executive director. “We are grateful for their advice, assistance and friendship with the Foundation. We are also happy announce that following his volunteer role on our Board of Directors, Nick Siler has been contracted to be the Foundation’s legal counsel. We feel so fortunate to have worked with these people and look forward to many more great years as part of the Community Foundation of Crawford County family. THANK YOU for your service!”

The CFCC was founded in April 1998 by a volunteer Board of Directors that represented a variety of interests from Crawford County through assistance from Lilly Endowment Inc. and the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana. To date, the CFCC has awarded more than $8 million in grants for programs/projects supporting Crawford County children and youth, education, housing, health and human services, the environment, history and culture, technology advancements, literacy and the arts; and has awarded well over $2 million in scholarships benefiting Crawford County students. The CFCC

currently manages more than 100 charitable funds on behalf of families, individuals, corporations and non-profit organizations and has more than doubled its annual grantmaking over the past five years.

For more information about the Community Foundation of Crawford County, how to serve or how to give, visit, call (812) 365-2900, email or follow them at

The Community Foundation of Crawford County’s newest board members:

Dr. Cassi Friday
Doug Goerss, JD
Allen Holzbog