CRAWFORD COUNTY, IND – The Community Foundation of Crawford County (CFCC) is pleased to announce its 2023 Scholarship recipients. The CFCC distributed 35 scholarship awards to 13 students based on donor designated criteria while using a double blind selection process. These scholarships were awarded from 29 CFCC endowed scholarship funds and from Lilly Endowment Inc, which funds the Community Foundation of Crawford County Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship award.

Laken Fraime, CFCC’s Director of Finance and Program said, “We were so excited to have the opportunity to celebrate and honor these deserving seniors. We look forward to watching them grow in the next step of their lives. We hope you will view their photos on Facebook at CFCC4ever.”

The 2023 scholarships awarded are as follows:

Carly Marie Birkla Memorial Scholarship – Emily Kerce, Natalie Stroud

Carr Family Memorial Scholarship – Emily Merritt

Crawford County Chamber of Commerce Scholarship – Mackenzie Menke

Crawford-Harrison Bar Association Scholarship – Natalie Stroud

Crawford County Paul W. Ogle Scholarship – Emily Kerce, Mackenzie Menke

Donald E. Sloan & A. Aledia Sloan Memorial Scholarship – Emily Kerce

Dr. Milton W. & Mrs. Ruth I. Roggenkamp Scholarship – Emily Merritt

Eddie & Robert Hammond, Everett Mason VFW Post 6160 Scholarship – Jonathon Carmickle

Elsia Patricia Cox Memorial Scholarship – Emily Merritt

English High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Sydney Roll

First Savings Bank – Crawford Region Scholarship – Klayton Grizzel

Howard and Julia King Endowment Scholarship – Natalie Stroud

Kaiser Family Scholarship – Natalie Stroud

Larry K. Eastridge Memorial Scholarship – Emily Merritt

Leavenworth High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Mackenzie Menke, Natalie Stroud

Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship – Jordan Mauck

CFCC Marengo High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Mary Wetzel

McIntosh Family Teaching Scholarship – Kenzie Seibert

Metzger Family Agricultural Scholarship – Mary Wetzel

Milltown High School Alumni Association Scholarship – Zoe Englebrecht, Jordan Mauck, Isaac Nickelson, Kenzie Seibert

Norman A. Roggenkamp Memorial Scholarship – Faith Taylor

Novy E. and Lula J. Gobbel Memorial Scholarship – Emily Kerce

Patoka Elementary Alumni Scholarship – Emily Merritt

Philip Bird Memorial Scholarship – Mackenzie Menke

Phillip E. Brown & Mary Louise Brown Scholarship – Klayton Grizzel

Ronald D. Patton Scholarship – Faith Taylor

Shawn Allen Howe Memorial Scholarship – Mackenzie Menke

Sheri Adams Zilke Memorial Scholarship – Emily Kerce

Zachary Robert Allen Baseball Memorial Scholarship – Natalie Stroud

“Each of the funds listed represents a donor or donors who chose to assist students with their education. The CFCC is proud to serve as a community partner with our growing list of donors,” said Christine Harbeson, CFCC executive director. “We recognize they could have spent their money on anything for their own pleasure; yet they chose to encourage and support these scholars. We are very grateful they chose to support Crawford County students!”

She continued, “We also appreciate our Education Co-Chairwomen, Heather Minton and Susan Mason, along with 40 other community members who assisted in the dedicated evaluation work to ensure anonymity through the selection process. Additionally, we appreciate the staff at Crawford County High School. We know we are fortunate to have a wonderful working relationship with their staff. Here at the CFCC, we do not do anything alone. It takes a lot of people working together toward a common goal to help Crawford County residents on the road to success. My new favorite saying is, ‘It takes a county working together to make positive change.’ Thank you everyone for helping our community’s students!”

To support one of these funds, discuss a new fund that supports Crawford County students, local nonprofits, an area of interest such as education or historic preservation, or even a specific cause, contact Christine Harbeson at, or call (812) 365-2900. The CFCC would love to talk with you about these and other exciting opportunities.

At the time, the CFCC Board of Directors are offering a 25% match on every dollar to new or existing unrestricted funds to celebrate the 25th year of the CFCC.

The Community Foundation of Crawford County was founded in April 1998 by a volunteer Board of Directors that represented a variety of interests in Crawford County. To date, the CFCC has awarded more than $8 million in grants for programs/projects supporting Crawford County children and youth, education, housing, health and human services, the environment, technology advancements, literacy and the arts, and has awarded well over $2 million in scholarships benefiting Crawford County students. The CFCC currently manages more than 90 charitable funds on behalf of families, individuals, corporations and non-profit organizations.