2022 DJSK Volunteers of the Year Award Honorees,
Row 1: Marsha Wells, Judy and Dewey Shelton, Bob Crecelius, Dan Crecelius
Row 2: Bill Mitchell, Mary Crecelius, Emily Siler, Polly Stephenson Mohr, Sharon Broughton, Vic & Eva McCune
Back Row: Josh Longest, Nicholas Siler, Ernie & Marti Stroud, Chase Smith
Not pictured is Sharon Morris

Crawford County, IN – The Community Foundation of Crawford County (CFCC) was pleased to honor eleven community volunteers. As a philanthropic organization, the CFCC points out that philanthropy is about more than money. Sharing one’s time and talents through volunteerism are significant parts of philanthropy and contribute significantly to the success of any community.

To recognize volunteers who share their hearts by serving our community, the CFCC is proud to announce the honorees of the semiannual Doris June Snider Kaiser Volunteer of the Year Award.

The Doris June Snider Kaiser Volunteer Award

The Doris June Snider Kaiser Volunteer Award is aptly named due to support given from a fund by that same name to support the event. Ret. Col., Dr. Clarence James “Jim” Kaiser of Eckerty, IN, established this fund at the time of his wife Doris’ passing as a way to honor all of her volunteer work in her surrounding community. Her volunteer efforts were extensive, and the CFCC is humbled to be a part of such a legacy.

Duke Energy also sponsored the event this year, allowing everyone to attend for free. “We were honored to support Crawford County volunteers,” said Lisa Brones Huber, Government and Community Relations Manager for Duke Energy in southern Indiana. “We appreciate volunteers’ vital role in strengthening a community!”

Nonprofits located in or serving Crawford County were encouraged to submit the name of one adult or couple. This was NOT a competitive process, but one where each person, couple, or pair who was submitted was honored. 

Honorees and guests all enjoyed a time of fellowship following the event that concluded after dinner and the program.

The honorees and the organizations who submitted them are:

  • Sharon Broughton, honored by Susan Mason and the Community Presbyterian Church; and also by Laura Zipp of Crawford County United Ministries
  • Bob Crecelius & Mary Crecelius, honored by Brenda Larud of Lincoln Hills Food Pantry
  • Dan Crecelius, honored by the Board of Southern Indiana Veterans Living And Rehabilitation Facility (SIVLARF)
  • Josh Longest, honored by Katie Goldman of the Marengo-Liberty Township Fire Department
  • Vic McCune and Eva McCune, honored by Sheila Kennedy of Wickliffe United Methodist Church
  • Bill Mitchell, honored by Nancy Radcliff of GRACE (Giving Recovery A Chance Every Day)
  • Sharon Morris, honored by Crawford County Historical and Genealogical Society
  • Dewey Shelton and Judy Shelton, honored by Pastor Adam Stroud of Tunnel Hill Free Methodist Church
  • Nick Siler & Emily Siler, honored by the Board and Staff of the Community Foundation of Crawford County
  • Chase Smith, honored by Crawford County Indiana Veterans Memorial Association
  • Elaine Stephenson (posthumously), & Polly Stephenson Mohr, by Gail Peitzmeier of Purdue Extension Crawford County
  • Ernie Stroud and Marti Stroud, honored by Pat Hooten of Marengo Christian Church
  • Marsha Wells, honored by Berniece Clark and the French Lick Chapter #239 Order of Eastern Star

The volunteers were honored at an event on July 1, 2022, from 6:30 to 8:00 PM at Crawford County Community Park in Marengo, IN. The program was opened by Christine Harbeson, executive director for the Community Foundation, followed by a prayer led by Pastor Kim Allen of Fairview Church and a current CFCC board member.

Honorees were featured in a visual presentation and celebrated through a reading by Lisa Brones Huber of Duke Energy. Huber used her talents as a professional public relations representative to give homage to each honoree individually. The honorees received a special award of black granite made and donated by Mark Hollen at Marengo Monument and a commemorative booklet designed by the CFCC staff.

Photographs were taken by Nicole Robinson of Louisville, KY. Those photos will appear on the CFCC Facebook page at Facebook.com/CFCC4Ever. About 100 people attended the event. Honorees and guests all enjoyed a time of fellowship following the event that concluded after dinner and the program.


To donate to this or other funds, establish a fund, discuss your charitable goals, or learn more about the Community Foundation of Crawford County opportunities, contact Christine Harbeson at charbeson@cf-cc.org or by calling 812.365.2900.

The Community Foundation of Crawford County was founded in April 1998 by a volunteer Board of Directors representing various interests in Crawford County. To date, the CFCC has awarded almost $8 million in grants for programs/projects supporting Crawford County children and youth, education, housing, health, and human services, the environment, technology advancements, literacy, and the arts, and has awarded more $2 million in scholarships benefiting Crawford County students. The CFCC currently manages more than 75 charitable endowment funds on behalf of families, individuals, corporations, and non-profit organizations.